Ray Ferrero bio

NSU Chancellor Ray Ferrero, Jr.
Ray Ferrero, Jr., J.D., became the chancellor of Nova Southeastern University in January 2010. Prior to that, he served as the fifth president of Nova Southeastern University from January 1998 to December 2009.

His involvement with the university began in 1984 as a member of the Board of Trustees. During his six years as chairman of the Board of Trustees, Ferrero played a major role in bringing about the merger of Nova University and Southeastern University, which ultimately resulted in the university’s current position as the largest independent university in the southeast and the seventh largest in the United States.

In Ferrero’s 12 years as president, enrollment increased 72 percent, from 16,921 in 1998 to 29,154 in 2009. In addition, NSU’s student population has grown more diverse under President Ferrero and NSU regularly ranks first in the number of doctoral degrees awarded to minorities. In 2007, NSU successfully completed its 10-year reaffirmation of accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

Ferrero has also overseen a transformation of NSU’s main campus with more than 2 million square feet of construction projects completed during his tenure. He is largely responsible for the creation of the Alvin Sherman Library, Research and Information Technology Center through a partnership with the Broward County Board of County Commissioners. The 325,000-square foot library – serving NSU students and faculty, as well as the citizens of Broward County – is the nation’s only joint-use facility agreement between a private university and a county government entity.

Other additions to the campus include the Jim & Jan Moran Family Center Village, the Carl DeSantis Building as the 261,000-square-foot home to the H. Wayne Huizenga School of Business and Entrepreneurship, the new Don Taft University Center, a 366,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art, multiuse facility that stands as the largest structure on the main campus, and The Commons, a new state-of-the-art 526-bed residence hall.

Ferrero has also expanded the university’s presence in Florida and beyond with Student Educational Centers in all major Florida cities east of Tallahassee, including Miami, Jacksonville, Orlando, Tampa, West Palm Beach and Southwest Florida.

Ferrero was Chairman of the Board for The Broward Alliance for the fiscal year 2009. He is a past president of the Florida Association of Colleges and Universities, the only non-governmental organization in the state of Florida that represents the common interests of all three sectors — private, state universities and colleges, and junior colleges — of the state’s higher educational system. He is a previous chairman of the Independent Colleges and Universities of Florida (ICUF), a diverse association of 28 not-for-profit, private institutions of higher education. He is also a past chairman of the Broward Education Consortium, which includes Nova Southeastern University, Florida Atlantic University, Barry University, Broward Community College and the Broward County School District.